Local water utilities

Local water utilities are responsible for delivering safe, secure, efficient, sustainable, and affordable water supply and sewerage services to 1.85 million people in regional NSW. They protect public health and the environment and support economic development and liveability.

Local water utilities in regional NSW include:

The role of local water utilities is to deliver safe, secure, efficient, and affordable water and sewerage services to customers and communities, providing public health outcomes, and supporting economic development, liveability, and the environment.

Local water utilities are governed in NSW by the Local Government Act 1993 and the Water Management Act 2000, as well as the:

  • Public Health Act 2010
  • Protection of the Environment Operations Act 1997
  • Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979
  • Dams Safety Act 2015
  • Work Health and Safety Act 2011
  • Water Act 2007 (Cth),

and any other relevant and applicable legislative and regulatory instruments.

The following utilities are exercising water supply functions under the Water Management Act 2000:

  • Central Coast Council
  • Cobar Water Board
  • Essential Energy
  • WaterNSW for the Fish River Water Supply.

Provisions in the regulation relating to Essential Energy’s area of operations refer to maps published on the department’s website. These maps are:

The following Local Government Councils are exercising water supply functions under Division 2 Part 3 Chapter 6 Local Government Act 1993:

A - F

  • Albury City Council
  • Armidale Regional Council
  • Ballina Shire Council
  • Balranald Shire Council
  • Bathurst Regional City Council
  • Bega Valley Shire Council
  • Bellingen Shire Council
  • Berrigan Shire Council
  • Bland Shire Council
  • Blayney Shire Council
  • Bogan Shire Council
  • Bourke Shire Council
  • Brewarrina Shire Council
  • Byron Shire Council
  • Cabonne Shire Council
  • Carrathool Shire Council
  • Central Coast Council
  • Central Darling Shire Council
  • Central Tablelands County Council
  • Clarence Valley Council
  • Cobar Shire Council
  • Coffs Harbour City Council
  • Coolamon Shire Council
  • Coonamble Shire Council
  • Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council
  • Cowra Shire Council
  • Dubbo Regional Council
  • Edward River Council
  • Eurobodalla Shire Council
  • Federation Council
  • Forbes Shire Council

G -  L

  • Gilgandra Shire Council
  • Glen Innes Municipal Council
  • Goldenfields Water County Council
  • Goulburn Mulwaree Council
  • Greater Hume Shire Council
  • Griffith City Council
  • Gunnedah Shire Council
  • Gwydir Shire Council
  • Hay Shire Council
  • Hilltops Council
  • Inverell Shire Council
  • Junee Shire Council
  • Kempsey Shire Council
  • Kyogle Council
  • Lachlan Shire Council
  • Leeton Shire Council
  • Lismore City Council
  • Lithgow City Council
  • Liverpool Plains Shire Council
  • Lockhart Shire Council

M - R

  • Mid-Western Regional Council
  • MidCoast Council
  • Moree Plains Shire Council
  • Murray River Council
  • Murrumbidgee Shire Council
  • Muswellbrook Shire Council
  • Nambucca Shire Council
  • Narrabri Shire Council
  • Narrandera Shire Council
  • Narromine Shire Council
  • Oberon Council
  • Orange City Council
  • Parkes Shire Council
  • Port Macquarie-Hastings Council
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
  • Richmond Valley Council
  • Riverina Water County Council
  • Rous County Council

S - Z

  • Shoalhaven City Council
  • Singleton Council
  • Snowy Monaro Regional Council
  • Snowy Valleys Council
  • Tamworth Regional Council
  • Temora Shire Council
  • Tenterfield Shire Council
  • Tweed Shire Council
  • Upper Hunter Shire Council
  • Upper Lachlan Council
  • Uralla Shire Council
  • Wagga Wagga City Council
  • Walcha Council
  • Walgett Shire Council
  • Warren Shire Council
  • Warrumbungle Shire Council
  • Weddin Shire Council
  • Wentworth Shire Council
  • Wingecarribee Shire Council
  • Yass Valley Council