Water sharing plans status

The Water Management Act 2000 applies to areas of New South Wales that have a water sharing plan. Water sharing plans, made under the Act, are, and will continue to be, the primary tool to define water-sharing arrangements in NSW.

Information on all water sharing plans that have commenced and are in force can be found through this page.

You can access information regarding the water sharing plans in force in your area using the map below.

A water sharing plan is generally in place for 10 years, but may be suspended from time to time under Section 49(a) of the Act due to severe water shortages. You can find information regarding current suspensions in place on the suspension page. Water sharing plans can also be amended during the life of the plan under Section 45(1) of the Act, if the Minister is satisfied that it is in the public interest to do so. Any consultation around proposed amendments can be found on the public exhibition page.

Select a region from the map

Barwon, Darling and West Murray Murrumbidgee Lachlan Macquarie- Castlereagh Namoi Gwydir Border Rivers Far North Coast North Coast South Coast Greater Metropolitan Hunter Central Coast