South Coast Region

The NSW South Coast is a coastal region between the town of Berry to the north, the NSW and Victoria border to the south and the Great Dividing Range to the west.

The region includes five catchments:

  • the Clyde
  • Moruya
  • Tuross
  • Bega
  • Towamba.

The NSW State Infrastructure Strategy 2018 identified the Bega River catchment as a state priority for a regional water strategy.

We are currently developing the strategy as a first step for a broader strategy for the South Coast. The aim of the strategy is to address risks to water security and future development of water-dependent industries based on potential future climate scenarios and growth projections.

The Department of Industry – Water will work with key stakeholders such as the Bega Valley Shire Council, Bega Cheese, Bega Valley Water Users Association and local environmental groups to identify potential infrastructure and non-infrastructure options to improve reliability of access to water by current and future users.