Historical floodplain management plans

Historically, the management of rural floodplains relied upon the preparation of localised floodplain management plans under Part 8 of the Water Act 1912. These localised floodplain management plans were designed to achieve the following outcomes to the benefit of both rural communities and the floodplain environment, allowing farmers to plan for future sustainable development based on a strategic scheme for the management of floodwaters:

  • Mapping of floodplain development, major flood flow-paths and flood-dependent ecosystems to better manage floodplain assets
  • Mapping of unobstructed floodway networks to identify effective passage of floodwaters and maintain floodplain connectivity to protect and enhance flood-dependent ecosystems and fish passage
  • Provision of guidelines to determine where landholder flood protection works can and cannot be constructed
  • Provision of remedial solutions to resolve hydraulic and environmental ‘hot-spots’ using a strategic risk management approach
  • Provision of assessment criteria for regulating existing and future flood control works within floodway networks

Localised floodplain management plans prepared under Part 8 of the Water Act 1912 are superseded upon the commencement of a floodplain management plan under the Water Management Act 2000.

Of the 22 localised floodplain management plans originally prepared under Part 8 of the Water Act 1912, 10 remain in-force across New South Wales. The Natural Resources Commission will be reviewing these floodplain management plans in 2020.

For more information about the transition of floodplain management planning from the Water Act 1912 to the Water Management Act 2000 in New South Wales, download Floodplain management under the Water Management Act 2000: A guide to the changes. (PDF 109.4 KB)

Floodplain management plans

Billabong Creek: Walbundrie to Jerilderie

Edward and Wakool Rivers (Deniliquin to Moama-Moulamein Railway): Stage 1

Wakool River (Moama-Moulamein Railway to Gee Gee Bridge): Stage 2

Edward and Niemur Rivers (Moama-Moulamein Railway to Liewah and Mallan): Stage 3

Edward and Wakool Rivers (Noorong Road to Wakool-Murray Junction): Stage 4

Lachlan River: Gooloogong to Jemalong Gap

Lachlan River: Jemalong Gap to Condobolin

Lachlan River: Lake Brewster Weir to Whealbah (Hillston)

Macquarie River: Narromine to Oxley Station

Murrumbidgee River: Hay to Maude

Tuppal and Bullatale Creeks: Murray River offtake to Deniliquin