Floodplain management plan program

Floodplain management plans have been prepared for rural floodplains in the northern Basin as part of the transition of water management from the provisions of the Water Act 1912 to the provisions of the Water Management Act 2000.

Floodplain management plans provide the framework for coordinating the development of flood works on a whole-of-valley basis.

The floodplain management plans prepared under the Water Management Act 2000 are for the five valleys of the Murray-Darling Basin in northern New South Wales: the Gwydir, Namoi (Upper and Lower), Barwon-Darling, Macquarie and Border Rivers.

Floodplain management plans have been prepared as part of the implementation of the NSW Healthy Floodplains Project, which commenced in 2013 to reform the management of water on floodplains through the preparation of floodplain management plans and the work to licence the take of floodplain harvesting water.

  1. Floodplain Management Plans per valley

    The floodplain management plan includes management zones, rules and assessment criteria for granting or amending approvals for flood works.

  2. Developing floodplain management plans

    An introduction to the development of floodplain management plans and the planning process.

  3. Review process

    Read about the process for reviewing floodplain management plans.

  4. Audits

    Audit reports determine if the provisions of a floodplain management plan are being put into practice.