Government-owned meters

The NSW Government recognises that there are different views about who should own existing government-owned meters. Consultation on this issue has highlighted that the vast majority of water users with government-owned meters would prefer that WaterNSW retains these meters.

The NSW Government has listened to this feedback and has decided that WaterNSW will retain ownership of these meters.  This will affect around 3,000 meters which were installed in the Southern Basin, Hawkesbury Nepean and Bega regions, largely through Commonwealth-funded programs.

WaterNSW will directly contact affected water users ahead of the rollout dates for the new non-urban metering rules to explain what this means for them and the steps it is taking to ensure these meters comply with the standards under the non-urban metering rules.