Three South Coast water sharing plans extended

Media release | 25 June 2021

The Department of Planning, Industry and Environment has announced an extension of the Water Sharing Plans for the Bega, Murrah-Wallaga and Towamba areas.

The extension aligns with the Natural Resources Commission review recommendations for these plans.

The three plans are due to expire on 30 June 2021 and will be extended for a period of up to two years.

The two-year period will allow work to be undertaken to inform the replacement of all plans currently under review.

[Water sharing plans are the primary framework for managing water access and sharing in NSW.|]

The plans are valid for 10 years from their starting date.

Near the end of the 10-year term, the independent Natural Resources Commission formally reviews the plan to identify the necessary changes to deliver better outcomes for all water users, including the environment.

Under the Water Management Act 2000 the Minister may, on recommendation by the Natural Resources Commission, extend a water sharing plan for another 10 years or replace the plan. The Natural Resources Commission recommended replacement of the Water Sharing Plans for the Bega, Murrah-Wallaga and the Towamba Areas, and this will happen over the next two years.

For further information please visit the Department’s Water Sharing Plan webpage