Finalists named for 2017 NSW International Student Awards

Media release | 7 September 2017

Outstanding international students and organisations in NSW have been recognised for their stellar efforts in community engagement with the announcement of finalists for the 2017 NSW International Student Awards.

Chair of the NSW International Education Advisory Board and Sydney Business Chamber Executive Director, Hon. Patricia Forsythe, said the annual awards publicly recognised the contribution that international students made to their fellow students, their educational institutions and the NSW.

“Most 2017 finalists are Asian nationals from China, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Indonesia, East Timor and Japan but Africa is also represented this year with finalists from Egypt and Tanzania,” Mrs Forsythe said.

“They are all united in their dedication to building community connections, through group activities and events at their school, college or university, and through volunteer work.

“With these awards the NSW Government, through StudyNSW, acknowledges students’ efforts in advocating for and representing other international students, fostering cross-cultural exchange, helping young people at risk and mentoring their peers.

“International students add to the diversity of our community and share new ideas and perspectives with their fellow students.

“In 2016, more than 267,000 international students enrolled to study in NSW. We want to ensure those students have a safe and rewarding study experience and establish friendships and community connections in NSW,” Mrs Forsythe said.

International Student of the Year Award categories are for outstanding international student community contributions in:

  • Higher Education;
  • Vocational Education and Training;
  • Schools; and
  • English Language Intensive Courses for Overseas Students.

The International Student Community Engagement Award also recognises the initiatives of organisations and groups that help international students connect with NSW communities. This Award covers the categories of education provider and business or community group.

Winners will be announced at Government House in Sydney on 22 September 2017.

Download the media release for the list of finalists