Are you eligible?

The purpose of the NSW skilled visa program is to help drive economic growth, competitiveness and productivity in NSW. Through the 190 program we aim to nominate highly skilled migrants whose occupational skills are needed in NSW.

NSW selects and invites candidates to apply for NSW nomination. Candidates are selected from the Department of Home Affairs SkillSelect database. NSW Department of Industry selects and invites the highest ranking candidates in eligible occupations on an ongoing basis. Invitations are not guaranteed.

To be considered for NSW selection, candidates must meet minimum eligibility requirements including:

  1. Meet NSW occupation requirements.
  2. Score a minimum of at least 65 points on the Australian Department of Home Affairs points test and meet relevant Commonwealth visa criteria.
  3. Have been selected by NSW and received an invitation to apply for NSW nomination.
  4. Submit a complete and accurate application for NSW nomination within 14 days of being invited to apply.
  5. Commit to living and working in NSW for at least the first two years after being granted the 190 visa.

For an overview on the 190 application process, download our how to apply fact sheet.

NSW occupation requirements

Your occupation must be on the NSW 190 Priority Skilled Occupation List (NSW 190 List).

NSW cannot provide an indication of the likelihood of invitation.

All candidates must have had their qualifications assessed as suitable to work in the nominated occupation in Australia. Read about the suitable skills assessment


To be eligible for the 190 visa you need to provide evidence that you have a score of at least 65 points on the Department of Home Affairs points test.

To be considered for NSW nomination you must be eligible for a minimum of 60 points on the Department of Home Affairs points test and if you are selected for NSW nomination you will receive an additional five points that can be used to meet the required total score of 65 points.

NSW selects and invites the highest ranking candidates first.

You should only enter skilled employment claims in SkillSelect at the required skill level. Refer to the SkillSelect help text for more information.

ICT professionals claiming skilled employment should read our frequently asked questions (see the being invited to apply for NSW nomination section).


You must be under 45 years old at the time you submit your application for NSW nomination and when you are nominated by NSW nomination for the 190 visa.


The NSW and Department of Home Affairs English requirement for the 190 visa are the same. NSW accepts results from the following tests:

  • International English Language Testing System (IELTS)
  • Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-based test (TOEFL iBT)
  • Pearson Test of English (PTE) Academic test
  • Cambridge English: Advanced (CAE)* test
  • Occupational English Test (OET)

Refer to the English language ability comparison table for an overview of the required exam results.

Skills assessment

You must provide evidence that your skills have been assessed as suitable for your nominated occupation by having a skills assessment by the relevant assessing authority.

You will need to provide evidence of your positive skills assessment at the time that you submit your application for NSW nomination.

Skills assessments are valid for a period of three years from the date of issue, unless a shorter validity period is specified on the assessment document. More information on skills assessments is available on the Department of Home Affairs website.

Frequently asked questions

For further information on eligibility read the frequently asked questions.