Crown Cemetery operators

Crown cemetery operators, appointed and regulated under the Crown Land Management Act 2016 and the Cemeteries and Crematoria Act 2013 and accountable to CCNSW, operate many facilities across Sydney. There are five large Crown cemetery operators operating in Greater Metropolitan Sydney:

There are many additional operators responsible for the management of cemeteries on Crown land across NSW, including smaller Crown cemetery operators and local government councils, which are listed in the CCNSW Cemeteries and Crematoria Register.

The classification of cemeteries and crematoria fact sheet provides information for council Crown land managers on the classification of Crown land dedicated or reserved for the purpose of cemeteries and crematoria. Councils should refer to this information when developing plans of management for council-managed Crown reserves.

On the 1 July 2018 the Crown Land Management Act 2016 (CLM Act) commenced. The CLM Act and associated Crown Land Regulation 2018, has resulted in a number of changes for Crown cemetery operators.

Further information is provided in the resources below: