Celebrating the 2016 NSW Creative Achievement Awards

7 June 2016

2016 Award Winners with Minister Roberts

Last night, the winners of the 2016 NSW Creative Achievement Awards were announced by the Minister for Industry, Anthony Roberts at a gala awards ceremony held at the Museum of Contemporary Art Australia (MCA) in Sydney’s Circular Quay.

Elizabeth Ann Macgregor, and Carriageworks, the largest contemporary multi-arts centre of its kind in Australia, were both announced as 2016 NSW Creative Laureates.

Dr Lisa Cooper, innovative florist, artist and author was announced as the winner of the NSW Emerging Creative Talent award.

Contributing to NSW’s rich cultural and social life

Mr Roberts said the independent judging panel selected each of the winners based on the recipients’ contributions to NSW’s rich cultural and social life, and to the state’s creative economy.

The judges chose Elizabeth Ann Macgregor, who was appointed as Director of the MCA in 1999, because of her significant leadership and capability, and her achievements in increasing the profile of NSW as a global creative centre.

Carriageworks, in the emerging Redfern-Waterloo precinct in Sydney, was made a Creative Laureate because it exemplified significant leadership and capability in the arts, and had skilfully balanced commercial, entrepreneurial and artistic imperatives.

Dr Lisa Cooper, who has a permanent residency at Carriageworks, was awarded the $15,000 Emerging Creative Talent Award in recognition of her extraordinary and innovative work in floral artistry.

“Liz Ann Macgregor, Carriageworks and Dr Cooper are all great examples of the strength and diversity of the creative talents that we are fortunate to have in our state,” Mr Roberts said during the announcement of the winners.

Recognising the significance of NSW’s creative industries

Creative industries are big business for NSW, employing about 184,000 people – roughly 5.1% of the state’s workforce – and generating services exports worth about $2.2 billion in 2014-15, up 26% on the previous year.

The NSW Creative Achievement Awards are a NSW Government initiative held annually to recognise outstanding achievements that raise the global profile of NSW creative industries. The awards feature two categories:

  • The prestigious NSW Creative Laureate recognises candidates that have demonstrated significant leadership and made a significant contribution highlighting the NSW creative industries on the world stage.The award celebrates the very best of the state's creative talent.
  • The NSW Emerging Creative Talent Award is granted to a candidate considered emerging in their sector that has demonstrated leadership in originality and innovation. This award offers support for future development with a cash prize of $15,000.

The awards were first held in 2014, with digital animation and visual effects company Animal Logic taking out the NSW Creative Laureate title and film maker Jason van Genderen awarded NSW Emerging Creative Talent.

Last year’s winners were Saatchi & Saatchi Australia as NSW Creative Laureate and dance company Shaun Parker & Company as NSW Emerging Creative Talent

For more information, visit the page on the 2016 NSW Creative Achievement Awards.