Future Towns Program

The new $1 million Future Towns Program will support up to 20 regional towns to help their small businesses become digital ready and consider new and innovative ways to undertake place activation activities, support economic growth through business facilitation and mentoring, and create the environmental conditions for business success.

Future Towns recognises that digital capability is increasingly important for businesses and the communities in which they are located. The fund is designed to help regional towns take advantage of the NBN roll out and the business and economic opportunity that improved connectivity brings.

Future Towns also recognises that the quality of NSW regional main streets are critical to attracting and retaining skilled and talented people, promoting business development and entrepreneurship, and drawing new small businesses to the community. The fund is designed to improve the activation of key spaces and main streets of participating regional towns.

The Future Towns program is aligned with the newly launched NSW Government’s Regional Development Framework, a program that seeks to make strategic place-based investments to secure the economic future of regional NSW.

The 20 towns participating in the 2016/17 Future Towns program include:

  • Bega
  • Bombala
  • Casino
  • Cooma
  • Coraki
  • Coramba
  • Dungog
  • Gloucester
  • Gunnedah
  • Junee
  • Jindabyne
  • Kempsey
  • Kyogle
  • Manilla
  • Narrandera
  • Tenterfield
  • Wingham
  • West Wyalong
  • Woolgoolga
  • Urunga