Our department

The Department of Industry creates conditions for the NSW community to prosper, ensuring we have a highly-skilled workforce, we manage our natural resources sustainably and we encourage investment and competition.

We create the conditions for NSW to prosper by

  • Investing in skills and education to ensure that our residents are ready for work now and for the jobs of the future.
  • We drive economic growth in primary industries by enabling the sustainable use of natural resources and production of food and fibre.
  • We provide independent research and scientific advice that creates economic, social and environmental benefits for NSW.
  • We promote a vibrant and valued sport and active recreation sector that enhances the lives of the people of NSW.
  • We grow the visitor economy of NSW by promoting our attractiveness as a major tourism centre and destination for events.
  • We support small businesses in NSW to start and grow.
  • We create the conditions that support the growth of industries that supply to domestic and international markets.
  • We apply a risk-based intelligence approach to all our licensing, compliance and enforcement activities across a range of sectors to balance economic and social outcomes for the people of NSW.

Download our organisational chart

Explore our department

  1. NSW Government logo

    Our leadership team

  2. Hydroponic lettuce farm

    Primary Industries

  3. Four ladies in class with laptops

    Skills & Economic Development

  4. Bondi suburban skyline

    Lands & Water

  5. Bar with glasses with shelves with bottles in background

    Liquor & Gaming

  6. Horse racing

    Office of Racing