Advisory councils

NSW Innovation and Productivity Council

Established under the Innovation and Productivity Council Act 1996, the NSW Innovation and Productivity Council advises the NSW Government on policies and strategies for innovation-led economic development and productivity in NSW. A key aim is to support innovation in business, government, and the education and research sector in order to stimulate productivity for the broader NSW economy.

The Council reports to the Deputy Premier and comprises of industry, education and research leaders and the Department of Industry’s Secretary as Executive Member. A new Council term recently commenced in 2016 with members appointed by the Governor of NSW, for three years.


Chair: Mr Neville Stevens AO

Executive Member: Mr Simon AY Smith

Members: Professor Alan Broadfoot; Professor Attila Brungs; Ms Rebekah CampbellDr Eileen Doyle; Dr Rosalind Dubs; Professor Annabelle Duncan; Emeritus Professor Barney Glover ; Dr Tony Rumble; Dr Michael Spence; Professor Paul Wellings CBE and Ms Lynne Wilkinson.

Regional Development Australia Committees

The NSW Chair and Deputy Chair positions on Regional Development Australia (RDA) committees are jointly appointed by the NSW Government and Australian Government.

RDA Committees provide advice to the NSW Government and deliver agreed regional economic development projects. The NSW Government also brings the NSW RDA Chairs together several times each year to discuss regional development activity underway across NSW.

View the list of NSW Chairs.